About Us

2015-02-10 14.21.10_resized (122x220)About the Treasurer’s Office

The Constitution of the State of Indiana provides for the office of County Treasurer. The person elected to the office of County Treasurer serves a term of four years and cannot serve more than eight years in any period in twelve years.

The County Treasurer is the financial officer of the county and is charged with the duty of billing and collecting all real estate, personal property, and mobile home taxes and assessments which are payable to the county. The County Treasurer also receives distributions of local income taxes and excise taxes collected by the State.

The County Treasurer directs the implementation of policies and procedures related to the custodial functions of all funds belonging to the county adhering to the public accounting laws prescribed by Indiana state statute and the State Board of Accounts. As the investment officer of the county, the County Treasurer invests and reinvests all funds and revenues held by the county in investments authorized by Indiana state statute.

Other duties of the County Treasurer include:

  • Certification to the County Auditor those properties eligible for annual tax sale.
  • Issuance of mobile home moving permits and title transfers.
  • Collection of delinquent real estate and personal property taxes.
  • Issuance of Property tax Clearance Schedule Form For New & Renewal Of Alcohol Permits.
  • Collection of Innkeepers Tax.
  • County Treasurer also serves as secretary to the County Board of Finance.